SaskBarley announces 2019 election

The Saskatchewan Barley Development Commission (SaskBarley) announced today that it will be holding an election this fall to fill three positions on its Board of Directors.

The months-long nomination period closed last Friday at 4PM and four candidates have been verified to run in the election:

  • Keith Rueve, Muenster
  • Michael Haydon, Swift Current
  • Matt Enns, Rosthern
  • Glenn Wright, Vanscoy

“We are pleased to have received a slate of high-quality candidates for our 2019 elections,” says Board Chair Jason Skothem. “This signals to us that the Saskatchewan barley community is engaged with the work we are doing and that barley producers are willing to invest their time and passion into helping build a sustainable future for our industry.”

Voting process and results

Candidate information will be posted on our website in coming weeks and will also be featured in our fall newsletter, which will be published and mailed in early October. Voting ballots and instructions will be mailed out to all Saskatchewan barley producers in October. An electronic voting option will also be available.

Election results will be announced in December and officially presented at the SaskBarley AGM in January 2020.

For more information:

Please direct any election-related questions to:

Ann Smith
Returning Officer
Levy Central

For all other inquiries:  

Delaney Seiferling
SaskBarley Communications Manager