2019 election

The Saskatchewan Barley Development Commission (SaskBarley) is currently seeking nominations to fill three positions for the Board of Directors. Current SaskBarley Directors Cam Goff and Zenneth Faye will both be completing a second consecutive four-year term on the Board, which is the maximum term any Director can serve. Director Keith Rueve will be completing a term, but is eligible to serve again. 

The nomination period will close on September 13, 2019.

Board purpose

The producer-elected and -directed Board ensures producers have the resources, leadership and provincial, national and international representation to strengthen Saskatchewan’s competitive advantage and makes certain that producers’ interests are protected.

Director responsibilities include:

  • Supervising the management of the business and affairs of SaskBarley, including overseeing the management, strategic direction, and governance of the organization.
  • Attending meetings approximately six (6) times per year and conference calls as required.
  • Representing SaskBarley at other meetings and events throughout the year


To be eligible to sit on the Board, you must be a registered barley producer (i.e. have had a SaskBarley check-off deducted since August 1, 2017 and has not requested or received a refund or check-off in either of the last fiscal year (August 1, 2018 – July 31, 2019).


Nomination forms  are available here:

SaskBarley director nomination form 2019

You can also request the forms by calling 306-653-7232.

Nomination forms must be signed by two (2) or more registered barley producers. If the registered producer is a corporation, partnership or other legal entity, it can designate a representative to vote and to hold office. A proper form of designation (available online or from the Returning Officer) must accompany the nomination form for every director nominee or director nominator of a corporation, partnership or other legal entity.

SaskBarley designated representative appointment form 2019

Completed forms should be mailed, faxed or emailed to:

Returning Officer Ann M. Smith, Levy Central Manager
Mail: PO Box 21038, Saskatoon, SK S7H 5N9
Courier: 2335 Schuyler Street, Saskatoon, SK S7M 5V1
Email: smitha@levycentral.ca
Fax: 306-975-6850

All nominations must be received no later than 4 PM CST, September 13, 2019.

Voting Process and Results

If a vote is required, ballots will be mailed out to all Saskatchewan barley producers in October. An electronic voting option will also be available. Election results will be announced in December and officially presented at the SaskBarley AGM in January 2020.

For more information:

Please direct any questions related to elections to Returning Officer, Ann Smith, at 306-975-6853.

Questions related to the Commission, the Regulations governing formation of the same or the collection of the levy should be directed to Delaney Seiferling, Communications Manager at 306-250-1099.